Reviews

  • Adrian H. Jul 13, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    They did an excellent job.


  • Starr C. Jul 11, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    I'm highly disappointed with how my move went down. We were considering several companies but after speaking to Kendrick, we decided to use Community Movers, in part because he assured us there were no hidden costs, we wouldn't find a better price and he indicated that he's "just trying to keep people working". Helping a small business keep people working is important so we booked with Community Movers. Kendrick told us that the move would be $145 for the first two hours and $55 for each additional hour. He said that with us just having one bedroom set, living room furniture, 4 appliances and some boxes, and being that our move was under 20 minutes from one home to the other, we would likely be done in two hours. That sounded great! We set the move for 11am on a Thursday. On Wednesday, we called them to confirm that they were coming at 11 and thought everything was set. At almost 11:20 on Thursday, the movers arrived. I wanted to make sure we kept up with our time so I asked them when our time started and was informed that they get 15 minutes at the beginning and 15 more minutes at the end of the move as "drive time". This was not something Kendrick had mentioned and when we called to inquire, he responded with confusion as if he thought he had mentioned it, despite his initial claim that there were no hidden costs. So plan on chopping 30 minutes from your time to pay them for driving. The movers were polite and nice but either inexperience or time padding caused them to do some things that I was quite unhappy with. They insisted on wrapping the furniture, even the tattered old couch that my dogs sleep on and when I told them I didn't want them to waste time wrapping that item, they told me they had to. However, they failed to wrap my cherrywood Pottery Barn bench and it was gouged up and damaged in the move. Perhaps I should've been more closely supervising, but I shouldn't have to do that, in my opinion. As they were bringing in another item they failed to wrap, a small set of drawers that I keep personal grooming products in, I discovered that a wheel was missing from it. They told me they didn't see it on the truck and I had to chalk that up as a loss and remove all of the wheels from it, making it much less convenient to use. They carried one box at a time out to their truck, despite the fact that they had multiple dollies and could have stacked them and moved several at a time. Again, I'm not sure if this inefficiency was a lack of experience or an attempt to lengthen the time my move took but I didn't appreciate it. Another unpleasant surprise was after unloading the appliances at our new home, which we had had prepared so they had neither disconnected from the old home or reconnected at the new home, the movers informed us that there would be additional charges of $15 per appliance. FOR WHAT?!? Again, this had not been mentioned and we had to call Kendrick, who did not answer the phone for us this time. When we did reach him by having one of the movers call him, he agreed to waive those fees. When all was said and done, we paid them for five hours. We had expected to be paying $145 plus a tip and ended up spending more than twice that before that tip. Being that we had only gotten cash for what we expected to pay, we asked if we could use our credit card for the balance and were informed that would be an additional $10 charge. Not only is that ridiculous, it goes against the credit card company's policies and if reported, they might lose their ability to use that credit card company. I decided not to be that petty though. I feel frustrated and cheated and would not recommend this company to anyone. I apologize that this review seems scattered, even more than a week later, I'm still very upset when I talk about this move. I'm only giving two stars because the movers were polite and nice, despite their inefficiency.


  • John M. Jul 8, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack


  • Michael P. Jul 5, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    Very good price for job.. Did run one day late on delivery butt overall good experience. Thanks


  • Tonda T. Jul 1, 2016
    Furniture Moving and Heavy Lifting
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    The moving crew was on time, polite, very careful with the furniture and worked very hard in the summer heat and still maintained a great attitude.


  • Scott C. Jun 30, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    Excellent service - professional


  • Jordan I. Jun 28, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack


  • Jalissa C. Jun 24, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack


  • Michele P. Jun 24, 2016
    Piano Moving
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    Crew was on time, friendly and professional. Moved an antique piano that was very heavy from my neighbors house to mine. Rate was reasonable and I would recommend, and will recommend, the Community Moving Crew to friends.


  • Janie S. Jun 22, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack


  • zalandre c. Jun 18, 2016
    Furniture Moving and Heavy Lifting
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    The staff were great; very polite & fast. I had my own truck, they just moved my furniture from the truck to my new place. All with a smile in that blazing heat. :) I would definitely recommend them & would re-hire them in the future.


  • Rebecca O. Jun 17, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    I had a small move to a storage unit and it could not have gone better! Their price is fair and they care about what they are doing! Moving is a stressful thing for everyone, but these guys make it worry free! So happy with my move and would recommend to anyone I know.


  • Khadijat M. Jun 16, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    Greg and the guys did an excellent job in moving us. They arrived on time, took care of our belongings carefully and worked efficiently to make sure everything is transferred safely. The guys are very respectful and courteous. I will recommend and use community moving crew in our future move. Great job guys!


  • Teresa R. Jun 15, 2016
    Furniture Moving and Heavy Lifting
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    They contacted me, and I didn't have to worry about contacting them. They were prompt and professional. Everything went great.


  • Douglas T. Jun 13, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    I was completely satisfied with Community Moving Crew!!!!! They did an awesome job from start to finish!!!


  • Ebone A. Jun 8, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    Very professional and they arrived on time. Employees are very polite and respectful of your belongings. Extremely efficient and affordable.


  • William B. Jun 5, 2016
    Furniture Moving and Heavy Lifting
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    The moving crew was awesome and friendly.


  • Elizabeth M. Jun 3, 2016
    Furniture Moving and Heavy Lifting
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    They were on time, courteous, helpful, and very fast. Greg and his crew made my move so easy and even a little bit fun! Highly recommended.


  • April H. May 31, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    The truck that was sent to move me broke down on its way to my house, but I had to call 30 minutes after my appointment time to find that out. I was told a few hours later that they tried to rent a truck but none were available in all of Memphis so I would have to wait until their other job was finished around 12:30/1 p.m. My extra moving help had to leave at 12, & at this point I had to reschedule my move-out inspection twice, which cost me part of my security deposit refund. At 1:30 I called back and was told they were cleaning up & on their way. They finally arrived at 2:30... 5.5 hours late, & offered nothing by way of compensation for my losses as a direct result of their failure to stick to their time agreements. I was asked to sign a 2 hour agreement, which was what I was told on the phone would be how much time I'd need. In fact, on the phone the man said he'd probably be able to move me himself in 2 hours. When the movers arrived they immediately told me that the things in my garage would put me over 2 hours. My 10 yr old son, my 14 yr old daughter & I loaded items from the house & cleared the majority of our things in less than an hour. We lifted boxes & furniture that was heavier than some of the items that were put on a dolly & brought out. I was charged another hour-despite their late arrival, my loss of help because they were late, & my loss of security deposit refund from missing my walk-through inspection. Time and money were apparently only important when it was not the customers time or money. I also stopped at the bank on the way to the new address to get out the funds for the additional hour & still made it to the address 20 minutes before the movers :-/ I should not have been charged for this service.


  • roseanna c. May 1, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    They were very fast and priced well. Even changed out my dryer electrical cord and connected washer and dryer. Most movers will not due this.


  • Jessica H. Apr 30, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    Great job! The movers were very professional and friendly. They also moved quickly and made sure everything was exactly where I wanted it to be in the new apartment. Highly recommended!


  • Robert L. Apr 22, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack


  • Ashley L. Apr 18, 2016
    Furniture Moving and Heavy Lifting
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    Corey and Kendrick were personable, professional and proficient.


  • Scott D. Apr 16, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    Community Moving Crew did an amazing job, they were fast, super friendly, and just a pleasure to be around. They got to work as soon as they arrived and handled our requests (and all of our stairs) perfectly. We couldn't have been happier with our experience and will definitely call them for any future moving needs!


  • Thomas B. Apr 13, 2016
    Piano Moving
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    Moved a piano--best rate, 10 minutes early, great communication! I would use them again and highly recommend.


  • Nathan K. Apr 6, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack


  • Winola W. Mar 24, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    Overall the experience was a great one!! Ali was professional and refreshingly honest about a negative review I read. Thats one reason I decided to take a chance on them. The movers were late; they had some issues with their moving truck (which I didn't find out about until afterwards),but they got busy as soon as they made it. They were friendly and took great care of my possessions. My chair ended up with a slight knick, but he immediately offered to come back out and fix it. I would definitely recommend these guys for a moving job, and I'll be using them for my next moving needs.


  • Angela R. Mar 17, 2016
    Furniture Moving and Heavy Lifting
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    They did a fantastic job! They were careful and efficient and put everything back in place when they were finished. Oh and they were charming!


  • Daniel S. Mar 4, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack


  • Jenny H. Mar 4, 2016
    They were very polite and fast, and were able to get me an appointment on what I thought was short notice. I will recommend them to all of my friends. Kendrick and Quay were great, and I spoke with Ali on the phone she was wonderful as well.


  • Worst moving company ever H. Feb 27, 2016
    While moving me into my apartment Community Moving Crew damage several items including my 50 inch flat screen television. They were apologetic & promise to fix my television and several other items. 60 days later still without my items. Dissatisfied customer.


  • Sami O. Feb 15, 2016
    Local Moving (under 50 miles)
    Verified Review
    Source-Thumbtack
    Moving It was very good


  • Byron A. May 23, 2015
    I had a great experience! I consider my belongings treasures and I was extremely pleased that nothing was broken. I plan to utilize their services very soon when I'm ready to transport my stuff back to ATL. -Byron


  • Tearsanee R. Dec 6, 2014
    It was Great. I will be using him again. I also will refer future movers to him. Thanks again Guys!!


  • William T. Dec 4, 2014
    Kendrick was very professional on the phone & in person. He was on time and he handle my Floor Model T.V. with care. My co-worker also called me when she recieved the T.V. to let me know how well he did with taking care of the merchandise. He knows the true meaning of Dignity, Respect & Professionalism. I will recommend Mr.Kendrick Green Moving Service to everyone, & I will be using him again. Thanks Kendrick


  • Shelly H. Dec 3, 2014
    I received service the same evening I called. They were fast, courteous and respectful. They went and picked my things up from storage and delivered them directly to my house. I will definitely refer and use them again! Great job!


  • Kesha S. Nov 29, 2014
    He arrived a few minutes early, which set the tone of the move for a very positive experience. He worked nonstop and fulfilled all requests. Kendrick carefully handled my belongings and was accurate on his projected timeline. I would definitely utilize his services again and recommend to a friend!


  • Jerry E. Nov 26, 2014
    Kendrick was great. Showed up on time. Had the equipment he needed. Was very careful with the furniture. And he's a nice guy! Plan to use him again.


  • Nicole J. Nov 25, 2014
    They arrived early which is a good thing. They finished well within the estimated time and the final cost was within the estimated cost that they gave. Lower than I thought it'd be. I'm a repeat customer and will use them again in the future. I have referred them and to friends and will do so in the future. All the movers were polite and careful with my belongings. I have zero complaints.